theresaurus

April 20, 2012

Challenged tulips

Filed under: Uncategorized — theresaurus @ 2:22 pm

Went down to the mentally challenged people’s center this afternoon. They’ve planted tulips. Tulips are pretty. On Fridays if I want to buy something from the center’s little vegetable stand I have to go before 3:30 because the farmer comes and takes all the challenged produce away early. Today I got there just as the farmer was hauling stuff away and he gave me a discount on the cabbage I bought. Everyone is very nice there and I feel at home, being challenged in so many ways myself.

The highway is right down the street and there’s an odd little area near the off ramp with a nice covered sort of picnic table like a gazebo, but it’s not a place anyone would want to hang out because it’s so close to traffic. Lately, when I’ve passed by late in the afternoon, I’ve noticed a woman sitting there smoking cigarettes. She always has a bag of groceries and looks like she’s on her way home from work and needs some time to herself before doing so. “Me time” I suppose. The other day I saw her sitting there and she seemed especially upset. On my way back home she was gone and I snooped around and discovered four cigarette butts and an empty aspirin container. I hope she’s okay.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

